Not just a hobby, it's a way of Life

Eh, so it’s only been a month, but I decided to come back.  I really need to keep up on the blog because it’s a great memory tool.  “When did we do that thing?  Oh yeah, here it is on the blog.”

Well, let’s have a little check in on how my goals are doing.  No macarons or tie-dyes yet, but I can swear in Croatian.  And reading!  I’m reading!  I should, for goodness sake, with all the devices.  A small wrinkle popped up when I discovered my library had switched from Overdrive to 3M Cloud Library (or CL, as they call themselves).  The problem with that is CL does not work on e-ink devices.  It’s an app, so your device needs to be app-compatible.  The nifty Paperwhite Ramblin’ got for me?  Nope.  So, to read ebooks from my library, I have to use the eye-searing tablet.  I don’t mind surfing the internet, but I hate reading large amounts on backlit screens.  But CL doesn’t appear to be particularly interested in that.  And no easy way to contact them from the website.

So, about three weeks ago, we had a beautiful weekend weatherwise and took that opportunity to visit Ramblin’s parents.  You never know what you’re going to get in winter, so we saw the chance and went for it.  Ramblin’s mom had found a yarn shop for us to visit, right across the street from a quilt shop.  We went to the yarn shop first, and I did a little damage, then we went over to to the quilt shop.  Ramblin’s mom hand-pieces the most beautiful quilts.  She found a good scrap pattern to help clean up her stash, and we left just in time so that I didn’t wind up buying a kit.  It was purple (of course), and my resolve was fading fast.  Then we traveled to Clarksville for lunch at the Cracker Barrel.

In possibly the quickest stash-to-finished-object ever, I worked up two of the skeins I bought within a week and a half of purchase.

Fan Shawl

The cat was very interested in the picture-taking process.

fan-shaw-with-cat-1

fan-shaw-with-cat-4

fan-shaw-with-cat-6

Because of course everything a cat sees is his domain.

There has also been spinning with the lovely WooLee Winder-equipped Hansen.

fck-panda-in-lotus-washed

fck-panda-in-lotus-washed-closeup

fck-lotus-spun-closeup

The first two pictures are after a bath, so the third picture doesn’t quite reflect the poof afterward.  This was a 4.2 ounce braid of Merino/Bamboo/Nylon from Fat Cat Knits in the colorway Lotus.  ETA: about 600 yards of 2-ply, so heavy lace/light fingering weight. Very nice and springy, which is just what we need right now.  The temp hasn’t been awful, but oh my, the gray days are getting to me.

In soapy news, I’ve applied to be a vendor at a new show.  They have a well-established two-day show in the fall, and now the organizers are adding a one-day show in the spring.  I thought I would try things out for the spring show and maybe come back for the fall one.  As you read in the previous post, I won’t be attending the new show I tried in December.  ;)  I had a decent amount left from my soaping frenzy this fall, so I thought I might not have to make much for the early spring shows.  However, I’m delivering 20 bars tomorrow to various customers, so I may need to make just a tiny bit more.  Selling the equivalent of an entire batch in one day is a nice feeling.

Oh, and since we last chatted, I’ve become a literature teacher.  It happened in the space of an hour and a half.  The high school I was supposed to teach composition for changed their minds and wanted literature instead.  My boss asked if I could be credentialed in literature, and I asked if we could find out.  (college instructors need to have a minimum of a master’s degree and 18 graduate credits in that area – I have 32 hours in a mix of English and literature, then several more in miscellaneous subjects like liberal studies and instructional technology) An hour and a half later, BOOM, I’m a literature teacher.

And I’m going to be teaching my fifth dyeing class at the yarn shop.  This time we’re doing sprinkle dyes.  Should be a blast.

Leave a Reply

