Hey, do you come here often?

Hi!

Since I’ve recently told someone that I still blog, I thought I better, you know, actually blog.

Today marks one year of my mom’s passing.  I can’t say that it’s easier, but I get by.  I still have moments of outrage about the whole situation, wondering why on earth any of the doctors couldn’t see what was going on, but then I repeat my mantra, “And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.”  I also think it’s unfair that I’ve lost the only first-degree relative I’ve ever had and almost get overwhelmed by the sense of aloneness (not bereft of people that care, just knowing the family tree doesn’t have a lot of branches left).  But, there’s nothing to be done about that, so you might as well keep moving.

So, what have I been doing?  Well, not working on the Europe update.  When we got back from the trip, I had a fairly sizable project to complete, then there is the madness that is the summer semester.  Everyone seems to think that summer is the ‘easy’ semester, and after 13 years in higher education, I can tell you that’s simply not true.  A regular semester boiled down into 8- or 10-week sections spells chaos, especially with students brand new to online learning needing a couple of weeks (or more, in some cases) to get acclimated.  Oof.

But, there has been fun.

ROMP bracelets

Ragged and Cynical were kind enough to host us for their local bluegrass festival.  If you haven’t listened to bluegrass in a while, you might be surprised to know it’s expanded and evolved.  Groups like Carolina Chocolate Drops, The Deadly Gentlemen, and The Punch Brothers all redefine what I thought of when hear ‘bluegrass’.  Good stuff.  Also, you have to love the vibe that comes along with it.

heart tie-dye from ROMP

I might be turning bohemian.

And knitting!  There has been knitting!
Laar progress
Laar by Gudrun Johnston

And more knitting!

Opal sock purpley blues

 

Standard Sock Recipe by me.

TdF (Tour de Fleece) has came and went.  I spun a couple of days in the nearly month-long spin-a-palooza.  Nothing like I used to.  Last year I spent a good chunk of it in doctors’ offices and hospitals, this year – meh.  Maybe next year I’ll feel more like it.

And finally, our little garden patch has been giving us some yummy things.

garden haul

 

This was from a week ago or so.  We’re getting lots of cukes, though the beans look like they’re slowing down.  The cherry tomatoes keep rolling in, Ramblin has been getting peppers hot and sweet, and we’ve plucked the first ‘big’ tomato this week.  Not bad for a 6′ x 8′ spot.   Plans are to acquire some equipment (hand-turning over a garden is hard work, yo) to expand next year.

If I can get over the guilt of not having the Europe summary done, I might try to start coming here more often.  Or, you know, just finish the darn thing.

Published in: on July 23, 2013 at 8:56 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://needlefingers.wordpress.com/2013/07/23/hey-do-you-come-here-often/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

