Not just a hobby, it's a way of Life

Alo-ha!

As you can hopefully deduce from the title, we’ve been to Hawaii.

Prologue

After this many vacations, you would think I would be a pro at this.  I’m not sure what went haywire, but I had zero focus and left many of the small details until the last day.  Maybe it was because we had this booked so far in advance.  Anyway, Ramblin’ arrived home early, we grabbed whatever we thought we needed and headed to Indy for our traditional park-not-sleep-a-wink-and-fly.  Dinner, also the usual, was at Kazablankas, with an excellent salmon salad for myself and Ramblin opted for the catfish dinner.  (for those of you used to my travelogues, you know food is important)

Day One – Travel

Despite booking an 8:30 flight, this still meant we had to be up by 5:30 Indy time.  Better, but still not great.  After being treated to some charming breakfast conversation from the next table over, we boarded the shuttle to the airport.  Our first leg took us to Salt Lake City.  It was about a 3 1/2 hour flight, not too bad.  I napped a bit which helped.  After our layover that included lunch at Dick Clark’s American Bandstand Diner (almond crusted chicken tender salad for me, bbq chicken salad for Ramblin), we boarded our flight to Honolulu.  Or as the pilot put it, “Our short 6 hour 15 minute flight to Honolulu.”   Due to the extended flight, we were on a larger jet which had media screens in each of the seat backs.  I left mine mostly on the flight info, which in addition to the time remaining, would also pop up a map so that you could see exactly where you were.  Awesome.
Display of progress on the airplane

When it hit the four hours remaining, my spirit nearly died.  But once it got to 3 hours 30 minutes, it got a lot better.  Don’t ask me why half an hour made that much difference, but it did.  I had never flown over that much water, and I casually wondered if it might bother me, but with the screens to keep everyone entertained (sounds like the aviation sector has picked up some strategies from parents), the windows mostly stayed shuttered to knock down glare.  Add in cloud cover, and it felt like we were simply on a bus.

It was very exciting to see Mauna Loa as we flew in.  Even more exciting when we flew past Pearl Harbor.  Once we got off the plane, we got ‘leied’ and gathered into our shuttle group.  An hour and a half later, we were at our hotel, the Waikiki Resort Hotel. (It’s actually about a block from the beach.)  One of the things I found amazing is that the hotels do not have doors to the lobbies. It’s simply open air, tucked well back under the covered drive. When we checked in, the desk clerk told us we had been upgraded to an ocean view.  Now, there are lots of very tall buildings in downtown Honolulu.  I figured we might have a sliver of the water from our window.  Oh no – balcony, baby!  I might have squeed with delight.

We had a nice view of the water.

Sunset at Waikiki from our balcony

And of Diamond Head Crater as well.

Diamond Head Crater from our balcony

This marked about 17 hours from the alarm going off and over nine hours since our last food, peanuts notwithstanding.  We wandered down the street to Blazin’ Steaks.  At first, we were the only ones there.  The building was nothing spectacular to look at, but the food was excellent.  Ramblin had the steak and shrimp, and I had the garlic steak.  Both were accompanied by fried rice and mixed greens.  We then wandered around Honolulu.  There was a wonderful outdoor marketplace where we found Dole Whip!  Straight from the source!  I also bought some fresh pineapple, as it is my goal to eat my weight in pineapple this trip.  We made our way back to the hotel, ending the day a full 20 hours after it began.  Of course, it was only 8pm here.

Oh yes, how could I forget the weather – a breezy, balmy 80 degrees.

Comments on: "Alo-ha!" (1)

  1. That extra 1/2 hour does make a difference, I have no idea why. lol And I love that there were no doors. I love having the doors and windows open, but the weather here doesn’t allow that for very long. :)

Leave a Reply

