Not just a hobby, it's a way of Life

You’ve been very patient with me and the food.  But I know at least some of you come here for the knitting.   And Ravelry definitely curtails some of the posting I would probably do because it’s so easy to load things there.   So, without further ado . . .

Starry, starry socks

These are socks made with yarn from Maine (squee!) by Done Roving.  It’s Frolicking Feet in “Starry, Starry Night.”   I think it replicates the night sky rather well.
Starry, starry socks closeup

There’s also been some xmas knitting, and xmas ripping, and more xmas knitting, and xmas flinging back into the yarn room for a time out.   Less said the better.

Okay, so we are redeemed on knitting content.  Now let’s get to the food.  I’ve tried to love brussel sprouts.   I love broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, spinach, asparagus, and almost every other green thing there is.  The one exception has been the sprouts.  I believe it was partially a flavor issue, but more of a textural one.  If I don’t like the texture of a food, it’s not going to happen.  No how, no way.  But what else can you do to brussel sprouts but boil them to death?   I feared they were too compacted to steam well, turning to mush on the outside before the inside would ever be tender.  Cut them in half.  Eh.

Cue Elsa and her magical recipe blog.  How does she know exactly what I need?  Roasted Brussel Sprouts.

Crunchy on the outside, with structure remaining on the inside.  Flavor that doesn’t need to hide behind any butter.

Now, I wonder if she can hook me up with a great tomato bisque recipe?  We headed south this weekend, and our lovely hosts introduced us to the wonder that is Great Harvest Bread Company (GHBC) Tomato Bisque soup.

It really was a fantastic food weekend.  Friday night goulash – the perfect warmth for the cold evening.  Saturday lunch at GHBC – another restaurant to add to the favorites list (of course, the nearest one is about 60 miles away).  Saturday evening – a christmas ham feast prepared by our hosts.  Plus two awesome breakfasts.  Always a great visit, and we can’t wait to return the favor.

 

Comments on: "Keeping up the reputation of this being a knitting blog" (2)

  1. Yay!! I’m glad you like them and I love the pic, now I have to make some. I always make sure to add a good amount of salt because they crisp up and the outer leaves are almost like potato chips. :) And I will search for the tomato bisque recipe and make it happen! haha

  2. The socks and colorway beautiful. I hope this isn’t a second comment. I just lost one and don’t know where it went. So very me!

Leave a Reply

