Yes, it’s food again

Holiday Cranberry Slush

Well, it seems appropriate this time of year, don’t you think?  This is something I make every year.  It’s also the thing I completely forgot about making until Mom mentioned it last weekend, requiring the fourth trip to our Megamart (you know the one) in two weeks.  Sigh.  Anyway, the original recipe was in a rural electric news magazine years ago.  I gave it a try, and it became an instant Thanksgiving classic.  The tartness really helps cut through all the richness of the food.  Of course, we lost the recipe, but I’ve been making it from memory ever since.  My mom did find the original one a couple of years ago, and I think I tried following it, but liked my off-the-cuff take on it better.

Holiday Cranberry Slush

1 can jellied cranberry sauce

1 can frozen apple juice concentrate (not mixed up, just as is)

Cinnamon – I don’t know how much, I just shake a bunch in – let’s say somewhere around 1 t. depending on your personal love of cinnamon

1 t. lemon juice

Your favorite lemon-lime beverage

Mix first four ingredients together (hand-mixer, blender, food-processor – whatever you like) and freeze.  Stirring periodically during the freezing process helps a lot.  When ready to serve, scoop two large spoonfuls (probably about 1/4 – 1/3 c.) into a tall glass and fill with your favorite lemon-lime soda. Stir or enjoy as is.

On a knitting note, I’ve spent today partially updating my yarn stash on Ravelry.  Eee.  Houston, I might have a problem.

Published in: on November 27, 2011 at 5:44 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://needlefingers.wordpress.com/2011/11/27/yes-its-food-again/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am going to try this! I don’t have jellied cranberry sauce though, but I have cranberries so I will make it happen somehow. :)

  2. Delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe, and your knitting stuff, too.


Leave a Reply

