Not just a hobby, it's a way of Life

It’s time to thrive

When the English chair had asked me if I was willing to teach a class last fall, even though I knew I couldn’t take on One. More. Thing. I was still intrigued by it.  I really wanted to do it.  Then, when we needed an additional instructor for the online section of the course, taking that on seemed crazy, yet so desirable.  Though it’s not been a breeze by any means, it’s been the one thing that has made sense in the insanity of the day job.

The burnout has finally prompted action.

One month from yesterday, I will be working from home.  I’m going to be teaching online courses as my primary employment.  My first day of not going into the office will be my birthday.  Yessss.

The worst thing about all of this was having to put my boss back into the situation of being a worker down.  We’ve been short-handed since last July, just got the new advisor this week, and I had to do this to her.  And she’s wonderful.  Some bosses, you wouldn’t care two cents about, but not mine.  I’m so glad I will continue to work with her, just in a different format.

I have applied for health insurance.  Since the last time I looked, my state has finally made it illegal to discriminate on health care coverage based on genetic information.  Yay!  So now, I appear like any other person needing health insurance.

I will need to set up a personal retirement account.  While I am vested in both of my previous accounts, I don’t believe I can contribute to them as a non-employee.  Or, perhaps I can, since technically, I will be an adjunct.

I’m trying to be practical to make sure everything is covered.  But let’s discuss some of the fun stuff, too.

I’M NOT GOING TO HAVE TO GO TO WORK ANYMORE!!!!!!!!  :)

I will be able to go to the twice-a-month spinning group at the local yarn shop.  I can go to yoga during the day.  I don’t have to buy dress clothes.  We can go on a trip in August if we want to.  I don’t have to drive on snow and ice (okay, I didn’t do that anyway, but now I really won’t have to).  I can cook ‘better’ foods, instead of ‘what’s easier’ foods.  I get to be driven insane by cats needing constant attention . . . . yeah, we’re going to need to find some sort of distraction for them.

Also, every job has the ‘filler’ stuff, the stuff that is not remotely necessary for the operation, but someone has created the requirement of it.  Working from home will allow me to focus directly on the task at hand, and if I see something that needs adjusted, I can do it.  It doesn’t need to be granted permission from five different offices.  Autonomy.  Blessed autonomy.  Cutting out all that extra stuff is going to free up my time to become more effective.  And creative.

I’ve compared what I’ve done to weeding a garden.  If the garden is choked off with weeds, the weeds might do well, because they are ruthless, but the desirable plants and flowers wither.  I’m pruning out what I don’t need, to allow resources to become available to the things I want to nurture.

“If you’ve never been thrilled to the very edges of your soul by a flower in spring bloom, maybe your soul has never been in bloom.”  ~Terri Guillemets

Comments on: "It’s time to thrive" (3)

  1. You are making me sooooo jealous. Can you figure out how a nurse can work from home? Just send the patients to me? Enjoy!!!!

  2. kdense73 said:

    Congratulations and happy early birthday.

Leave a Reply

