Not just a hobby, it's a way of Life

We’re going to Alaska, we’re going to Alaska!

And I cannot shut up about it.  Fortunately, I have a coworker who gets very, very motion sick, even in short car rides (not fortunate for her, of course), and she loves hearing about it, since she’s not likely to make such a trip herself.  But to give her a break, I’m going to babble about the things we have planned here.

Ketchikan, AK – first port, and we’re going to take a floatplane over Misty Fjords National Monument.  This was the last piece of the puzzle to fall into place.  When we started looking at options for shore excursions, we thought we would keep things fairly pedestrian.  Nothing in a small aircraft, nothing in a small boat.  After hours of research, this was the most popular thing to see in Ketchikan, and the best way to see it.  We’ll have plenty of time after the flight, hopefully not spent throwing up my socks, but viewing totems and the very interesting Creek Street.

Juneau, AK – Whale-watching on a boat large enough for the captain and six people (yep, we really stuck to our original plan).  You might remember our vacation earlier this year had some whale-watching.  But that was on a huge catamaran, with about 1,000 school children.  (No, it wasn’t 1,000.  The boat didn’t hold that many, or it would have been.)  This is going to be a completely different experience.  Can.  Not.  Wait.

Skagway, AK – White Pass Railroad.  Once again, this is ‘the thing’ to do in Skagway.  A remnant from the Klondike Gold Rush, the train winds through some seriously beautiful scenery.

Prince Rupert, BC – I had read on the discussion boards that this was not a very popular port.  I worried we wouldn’t find anything really cool to do.  Grizzly bear sanctuary, anyone?  This was the first excursion we booked.  Sure, maybe people in other parts of the country get to see bears, but I’ll guarantee you, there are no grizzlies in our neck of the woods.

Is it time to leave yet?

Comments on: "Because I’m going to drive everyone I know crazy if I keep yapping about it" (2)

  1. It’s exciting. You should be talking about it alot.

  2. Alaska is wonderful!! I went last year. I’d go again in a heartbeat.
    Be ready for rain in Ketchikan. Lovely shops to browse. My excursion there was canceled due to rain.
    Whale watching in Juneau was AWESOME!!!
    While I was in Skagway there was a problem with the train, so we ended up taking a van/bus to BC. I visited the sled dog camp. It was GREAT!
    Check out my blog from June 2009 to see pics of my trip.

    Hope you have a great time and take some great pics to share!!

Leave a Reply

