Not just a hobby, it's a way of Life

NaSchoWriMo

What?!

You may, or may not, have heard of NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month – the challenge to write a 50,000 word novel during the month of November.

Well, in one of my academic groups on Ravelry, they have formed the off-shoot NaSchoWriMo – National Scholastic Writing Month.  This idea is to do any kind of academic writing that’s been put off.  Sound like anyone you know?  So, I’m taking up the challenge, with the goal of getting this paper done, finally.

Those of you not familiar with procrastination probably cannot fathom why I just can’t write the blasted thing and be done with it.  Being done will be great, so it makes no sense to not make progress toward that.  I don’t have that answer.  All I know is when I begin to contemplate writing, I’m filled with dread that I’m not going to do it right.  I won’t get something cited appropriately, I’ll accidentally plagiarize sentences because I can’t keep every article I’ve read in my head, to know if it’s really my words or someone else’s, or I just won’t be able to yammer on for 50 pages without being completely random (that was my main problem with the last attempt – lots of ideas, no continuity of thought).

I wish I was excited by my topic, but I’m really not.  I’m burned out from work, and since my topic deals with the stuff we deal with on a daily basis, well, you see the difficulty.

Enter NaSchoWriMo – all I have to do is write for 30 minutes, be it genius or crap.  I’m betting on the last one, but I’ve also come to the realization that much of the stuff I do that I think is crap is apparently good enough, so I’ll just go with it.  This dovetails nicely with a book Jenny from the Blog is reading – The Now Habit.  I found a PowerPoint summary of it, but haven’t yet ordered the book.  The main idea seems to be just do something, and then don’t feel guilty when you do other things.

I don’t know if the book specifies 30 minutes, but it seems like a good place to start.  If I think that I have to work on something for three hours, I’ll be Mafiaing on Facebook in a heartbeat.  But 30 minutes?  I can do that.

I won’t kid you, even thinking about it now just makes me feel sick.  But it can’t be put off indefinitely, and I really need to have this behind me.

Leave a Reply

