Not just a hobby, it's a way of Life

A Walk in the Woods

(I really meant to have pictures for this, but sadly, the rechargeable batteries apparently will recharge no more)

Yesterday was the first day of spring, and my soul desperately needs spring.  Ramblin and I headed to the west to see about some tires for the Jeep (had to be ordered), eat at Taco Bell (yummy as always), and in addition to the necessities, I bought myself some oil paints.

No, I have no idea how to paint.  A few weeks ago I was seized with the idea that smushing paint around on a canvas might be therapeutic, and maybe even result in a picture, but I’m not counting on it.  I’m looking forward to the kineticness of the brush strokes, and whatever happens on the canvas is secondary.

Today, we visited with my mom and family for Sunday dinner, then went walking in the woods (hence the blog title).  My family owns a stretch of land that is about one mile by one-quarter mile, and a large portion of it is timber.  I had never walked the whole property, which seemed completely ridiculous that I wouldn’t have, so today we remedied that, chilling rain and all.  It is so very peaceful in the woods.  We saw a few deer, heard a few other critters, and blessedly, saw no snakes.  I’m not big on snakes.

What I’m hoping the path never before taken and painting will do is get my brain out of its comfort zone, which quite frankly, has turned into a rut.  Work no longer stimulates my brain; it only wears it out.  Knitting and spinning are still relaxing to me, but I think I’ve become too relaxed, hence the rut.

We’ll see how things progress.

Leave a Reply

