A taxing experience

I’m done with my taxes.  And I feel like it aged me five years.  I do them online, or I would probably be stark-raving mad by this time.

And I get to e-file federal and my state, but the state, that shall remain nameless, that will not let any non-residents e-file after making you believe you can on their website, requires me to print out several pages and snail mail them.

My taxes really aren’t that difficult, in comparison to some people.  But I have interest, the pattern sales, tuition, student loan interest, and oh yes, did I mention I live in one state and work in another?  Fun, nothing but fun.  My whole return to print for my records?  36 pages.  I’m not that complicated, why are my taxes?

The good news is I come out ahead.  I would hate to put myself through all of this and then have the added insult to injury of getting a bill.  Although to not have to go through this experience, I think I would just as soon give up the refund.

I have a friend (not yet arrested) that goes on the theory that since she would qualify for a refund and not owe any money, she just doesn’t file.  Yes, you read that right, she doesn’t file.  I’m pretty sure that’s illegal, but the IRS hasn’t shown up on her doorstep yet.  Mind-boggling.

When I do Ramblin’s taxes this weekend, it will seem like a walk in the park.

One Response to “A taxing experience”

  1. As a resident of the un-named state, I apologize. I have known quite a few people that work in one and live in another. You would think there would be an easier way. It’s pretty common. Hope your mom comes out on top of things.

    Candy

Leave a Reply

